Which AI assistant should I use, and what does each one cost?
Nine AI assistants side by side: prices, free limits, minimum ages, training settings and availability in Italy, from the makers' own pages.
Photo: Jakub Żerdzicki / Unsplash
After reading this article you will be able to:
- Find the assistants that fit your needs by price, age limit, language and data settings
- Read each maker's prices correctly, including currency and whether tax is included
- Check which assistants use your chats to train their AI and where to switch it off
On this page
The right assistant depends on what you need, not on a ranking. If you want to spend little, all nine assistants here can be tried without paying, and on 31 October 2026 the cheapest paid plan shown in euros cost 4.99 euros a month. If the assistant is for a teenager, check the minimum age first, because it ranges from 13 to 18. If you care about privacy, know that none of the nine says it leaves your chats out of training by default: you have to switch it off yourself. The table below sets out each of these facts, assistant by assistant, with a link to the maker’s own page.
This site is written with AI tools, including Claude by Anthropic, one of the assistants compared here. The comparison uses only the makers’ published information, with links.
An AI assistant here means a chat program like ChatGPT: you type or speak a question and it writes an answer. The program behind the answers is a language model, a computer system trained on huge amounts of text to produce new text. For a first look at what these assistants are and how to use them safely, start with AI for everyone. The nine assistants are listed in alphabetical order. To see which of them fit your needs, answer six questions in the tool Which AI do I need?, which reads the same data. Le Chat, from the French company Mistral AI, is now called Vibe: Mistral’s help centre says “Le Chat is now Vibe”, with the same address and login.
Which assistant fits your needs?
If you are a student. Check the age rules first. Claude requires users to be 18, and DeepSeek says its service is “primarily intended for adults”, with a guardian’s consent below 18. The other seven allow users from 13, or an older age set by your country, and several ask for a parent’s permission for minors. Three makers publish student prices: Mistral’s Education plan costs 5.99 dollars a month for verified students, for up to 12 months; Perplexity’s Education Pro costs 10 dollars a month; and Google’s release notes of 19 August 2026 say eligible college students can get one year of Google AI Plus at no cost in more than 140 countries, or AI Pro in the US. Check that your country and school are included before you sign up.
If you are a parent. Two makers describe tools for families. OpenAI turns on ChatGPT for Teens when it believes an account belongs to someone under 18, with optional parental controls; OpenAI says these controls do not let a parent read the teenager’s conversations. Google lets a parent switch off Gemini for a child under 13 through Family Link, its app for managing a child’s account. Microsoft’s Copilot terms say some features may be limited under 18. For Meta AI, Mistral Vibe, Perplexity and DeepSeek, the pages checked describe no age check. In Italy, Google sets 14 as the age to manage your own Google Account.
If you use it at work. Ask your employer first: many companies have rules on which tools you may use and on what you may paste in. Workplace versions are handled differently from personal ones. OpenAI says it does not use content from its Business and Enterprise workspaces for training by default, Microsoft’s privacy FAQ for the older Copilot app leaves out users signed in with a work account, and Perplexity says Enterprise data is never used for training. With a personal account, use the training setting listed in the table.
If you run a small business. Look at how prices are shown before you compare them. Claude, Grok and Mistral Vibe say their prices exclude tax; ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini, Meta and Perplexity do not say. Some makers sell team plans, such as Mistral’s Team plan at 24.99 dollars per user a month, tax excluded; the table covers only plans for individuals.
If you are retired, or you just want to ask questions. A free version is often enough. OpenAI’s free tier FAQ promises “unlimited everyday text chats”, Perplexity’s free plan has “practically unlimited basic searches”, and Meta says Meta AI “will still be free for everyday use”. If you prefer menus in Italian, four makers say their interface is available in Italian: ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot and Gemini. The other five do not publish a list of languages.
If you are a teacher. OpenAI’s pricing page mentions ChatGPT for Teachers, a free plan for verified teachers in American schools (from kindergarten to the last year of high school) until June 2027. Perplexity’s Education Pro is open to verified educators as well as students. Before suggesting an assistant to a class, check its minimum age in the table.
What does each one cost?
On 31 October 2026 the cheapest paid plan of each assistant, as its maker showed it, was:
- ChatGPT: Go, 8 euros a month (pricing page seen from Italy). OpenAI’s ads help page says ads may appear on Free and Go, but not on Plus or Pro.
- Claude: Pro, 17 dollars a month paid yearly or 20 dollars paid monthly, tax excluded (pricing page).
- DeepSeek: no paid plan for individuals is published.
- Gemini: Google AI Plus, 4.99 euros a month (Italian plans page).
- Grok: Plus, 8 euros a month, tax excluded (plans page seen from Italy).
- Meta AI: Meta One Core, 7.99 dollars a month as announced in September 2026; no euro price was found.
- Microsoft Copilot: Microsoft 365 Personal, 10 euros a month or 99 euros a year (Italian plans page).
- Mistral Vibe: Pro, 14.99 a month in dollars or euros, tax excluded (pricing page).
- Perplexity: the price of Pro could not be checked again that day, because the Pro page shows it only in a browser and the help centre gives none. Education Pro, for verified students and educators, costs 10 dollars a month.
The prices are not directly comparable: some include more storage, more pictures or other services, and some are shown before tax. The table lists every plan with what it adds.
Which ones use your chats to train their AI?
Training means the company uses conversations to improve its next generative AI models. Seven makers say they do this unless you switch it off or object: ChatGPT, Claude, DeepSeek, Gemini (from age 18), Meta AI, Mistral Vibe and Perplexity. Two do not state the default: Microsoft’s new Copilot app and Grok. Meta uses an objection instead of an on-off switch: you send it through a form from your Facebook, Instagram, Meta or WhatsApp account.
Two makers’ pages disagree with each other on this point. Anthropic’s privacy policy says Claude chats may be used “unless you opt out”, while its help article does not state the default; the table follows the policy and notes the difference. For Copilot, Microsoft’s privacy controls page for the new app, available since 18 August 2026, lists no training setting, while the older app’s FAQ says training is on unless you opt out. Whatever the setting, do not paste passwords, health details or other people’s private information into any assistant. What happens to what you type explains, assistant by assistant, how chats are stored and deleted.
How to read the table
- Prices are copied as the maker shows them, in the currency the page shows. ChatGPT, Gemini, Grok and Microsoft show euros when opened from Italy; Claude, Meta and Perplexity show dollars; Mistral offers both with the same number. The site does not convert dollars into euros, because the amount you are charged can differ.
- Tax says what the page states: “tax excluded”, “tax included” or “tax not stated”. Mistral’s pricing page has a switch to show prices with or without tax; the table copies its default view, without tax.
- “Page” after a price says which country version was read: IT for the Italian page, “global” when the page does not change by country.
- “Not published” or “not stated” means no official page opened that day gives the fact. It does not mean the feature is missing.
- “Not verified” in the “In Italy” column means the site could not confirm availability from an official page. This applies to DeepSeek, because of the Garante’s 2025 order explained in the table.
- Models, the versions of the AI behind each assistant, change every few weeks. The table gives the family name and, where the maker publishes it, the date it was announced. Where two official pages disagree, as with ChatGPT’s free model, the table follows the most recent page and mentions the other.
What changed since last month?
This is the first edition, checked on 31 October 2026. From the next monthly check, this section will list every price, plan, setting or model that changed, with the date.
How is this table kept up to date?
Every fact comes from the maker’s own website (pricing page, help centre, terms or privacy policy) and nowhere else. Each fact shows its source link and the day it was read. The whole table is checked again every month, and also when a maker announces a new plan, price or default model. A fact that could not be checked again keeps its old date, so you can see how recent it is. Each update is recorded under “Corrections and updates” at the end of this page.
Where to go next
- Is ChatGPT free? explains the free version and the Go, Plus and Pro plans in detail.
- Why is ChatGPT asking for my ID or a selfie? covers the age check OpenAI runs in Italy.
- What is an AI agent? explains the assistants that can click and type on your computer for you.
- What happens to what you type explains where your messages go and how to delete them.
The table
Data checked up to.
At a glance
| Assistant | Cheapest paid plan | Chats used to train models | Minimum age | In Italy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Go: 8 EUR/month | Yes, unless you turn it off | 13 | Available |
| Claude | Pro: 17 USD/month billed annually (200 USD up front), or 20 USD billed monthly | Yes, unless you turn it off | 18 | Available |
| DeepSeek | none | Yes, unless you turn it off | no fixed age | Not verified |
| Gemini | Google AI Plus: 4.99 EUR/month | Yes, unless you turn it off | 13 | Available |
| Grok | Plus: 8 EUR/month (80 EUR/year) | Not stated | 13 | Available |
| Meta AI | Meta One Core: 7.99 USD/month as announced; no euro price found | Yes, unless you turn it off | 13 | Available |
| Microsoft Copilot | Microsoft 365 Personal: 10.00 EUR/month or 99.00 EUR/year | Not stated | 13 | Available |
| Mistral Vibe | Pro: 14.99 USD/month, or 14.99 EUR with the page's euro option, before tax (the page has a switch to show prices with tax) | Yes, unless you turn it off | 13 | Available |
| Perplexity | Pro: Not verified: the Pro page shows its price only in a browser and could not be checked again on 31 October 2026; the help centre gives no Pro price | Yes, unless you turn it off | 13 | Available |
ChatGPT
Maker: OpenAI, United States
- Plans and prices
- Free: 0 EUR/month(tax not stated, pageIT). Unlimited text chats with GPT-6, with limited uploads, image creation, voice chats and deep research(source, read on )
- Go: 8 EUR/month(tax not stated, pageIT). More messages with tools, more uploads, images and voice chats, longer memory; the page says this plan "may include ads"(source, read on )
- Plus: 23 EUR/month(tax not stated, pageIT). Advanced reasoning models with GPT-6, extended messages and uploads, projects and custom GPTs(source, read on )
- Pro: From 103 EUR/month(tax not stated, pageIT). Three usage levels to choose from and Pro reasoning based on GPT-6 Astra(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- Unlimited everyday text chats, "subject to abuse-prevention safeguards"; file uploads, image creation, voice and data analysis have separate limits, with no numbers published. OpenAI says the default model and the limits "can change over time", and that ads may appear on the free plan in some countries.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Yes, unless you turn it off. How to turn it off: Improve the model for everyone, in Settings > Data controls (on the web from the account menu, in the app from your profile icon); turn it off and select Done.OpenAI's help page names Free, Plus and Pro for this default; it does not name Go, whose own help page says you can opt out at any time. Temporary chats are not used for training and may be kept up to 30 days. Voice mode has a separate control. If you rate an answer with thumbs up or down, the whole conversation may be used for training even with the setting off.(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- At least 13, or the minimum age in your country; under 18 you need a parent's or guardian's permission (terms for Europe, updated 16 January 2026).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- ChatGPT estimates age from signals linked to the account and moves accounts it believes are under 18 to ChatGPT for Teens, which has optional parental controls. In Italy OpenAI uses Persona, an outside company, to verify age while the account is active, with a live selfie, an ID or both; OpenAI says it does not receive the ID or the selfie.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhoneyes, Androidyes, Windowsnot stated, Macnot stated.The pricing page says "web, iOS and Android" and mentions a desktop app for ChatGPT Work and code edits on macOS, but it does not list the computer systems the app runs on.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Italian is among the interface languages OpenAI lists; the help page says to change it in Settings > General > Language.(source, read on )
- Models
- GPT-6 family. The pricing page names GPT-6 for free text chats, and OpenAI's release notes describe an update of GPT-6 for Free and Go users on 29 October 2026; Pro adds reasoning based on GPT-6 Astra. The free-tier help page still says free users get GPT-5.6 Luna.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. OpenAI's help page describes the age check required in Italy, and the pricing page opened from Italy shows prices in euros.(source, read on )
Claude
Maker: Anthropic, United States
- Plans and prices
- Free: 0 USD(tax excluded, pageglobal). Chat, search and file creation with limited usage(source, read on )
- Pro: 17 USD/month billed annually (200 USD up front), or 20 USD billed monthly(tax excluded, pageglobal). More usage than Free, Claude Code, Projects and the Opus models(source, read on )
- Max: 100 USD/month(tax excluded, pageglobal). 5x the usage of Pro and 100 USD a month in API credits(source, read on )
- Ultra: 200 USD/month(tax excluded, pageglobal). No 5-hour limit for verified accounts, 10x the weekly usage of Pro and 200 USD a month in API credits(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- A session-based usage limit that "will reset every five hours"; the number of messages "will vary based on demand". No numbers published.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Yes, unless you turn it off. How to turn it off: Help Improve our AI models, click your name, then Settings > Privacy.Anthropic's privacy policy (in effect from 10 September 2026) and consumer terms say chats may be used for training "unless you opt out" in the account settings, and the pricing table says "Opt-out" for every plan. Anthropic's help article on training describes it as something you allow and does not state the default. Incognito chats are not used. Turning it off does not take chats out of training already started, and chats flagged for safety review may still be used.(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- You must be at least 18 (consumer terms in effect from 8 October 2025).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- No age check or teen mode is described; the terms require users to be 18.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhoneyes, Androidyes, Windowsyes, Macyes.Also Linux. Android is listed on the pricing page ("web, iOS, Android and Desktop"); the download page links phones through a QR code.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Interface in 11 languages, Italian included; you can write to Claude in any language.(source, read on )
- Models
- Claude 5.5 family: Opus 5.5 (22 September 2026), Sonnet 5.5 (28 September) and Haiku 5.5 (7 October). The pricing page gives Sonnet and Haiku to Free users and Opus from Pro upward.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. Italy is on Anthropic's list of supported countries.(source, read on )
DeepSeek
Maker: DeepSeek, China
- Plans and prices
- Free: No price published: DeepSeek publishes no paid plan for individuals (its prices are for developers using the API)(tax not stated, pageglobal)(no official page, read on )
- What the free version gives
- Not published by the maker: no plans or limits are published for the chat on the web and in the app.(no official page, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Yes, unless you turn it off. How to turn it off: Improve the model for everyone, named in the terms of use (section 4.3); the menu path in the app is not described.The terms say inputs and outputs may be used, de-identified, to develop and improve the service, and that you can opt out by turning off this setting: the same opt-out wording that, for Claude, the table reads as on by default. The privacy policy (10 February 2026) lists a right to opt out of training and an email address for requests.(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- "Primarily intended for adults"; under 18, or under the minimum age in your country, only with a legal guardian's consent (terms updated 27 March 2026).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- No age check is described.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhonenot stated, Androidnot stated, Windowsnot stated, Macnot stated.DeepSeek's note of 17 October 2026 says its new model is live on "our website, app, and API", without naming phone or computer systems.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Not published by the maker.(no official page, read on )
- Models
- DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017, live on the website, app and API since 17 October 2026; DeepSeek-V4-Pro has been on the app and website since 13 August 2026. These notes are written for developers.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Not verified. On 30 January 2025 Italy's data protection authority, the Garante, ordered a definitive limitation, with immediate effect, on processing the data of users in Italy, reserving any further decision until its investigation ends. No later decision lifting or changing it was found on the Garante's website on 31 October 2026, and DeepSeek's pages say nothing about Italy.(source, read on )
Gemini
Maker: Google, United States
- Plans and prices
- Free: 0 EUR/month with a Google Account(tax not stated, pageIT). The Flash-Lite model, image creation and editing, Deep Research(source, read on )
- Google AI Plus: 4.99 EUR/month(tax not stated, pageIT). The Flash model, double the usage limits, video generation, 400 GB of storage(source, read on )
- Google AI Pro: 21.99 EUR/month(tax not stated, pageIT). Gemini 4 Argon and the Pro model, 4x the usage limits, 5 TB of storage(source, read on )
- Google AI Ultra: From 99.99 EUR/month (a second level costs 219.99 EUR/month)(tax not stated, pageIT). The highest access to Gemini 4 Argon, with 5x or 20x the limits of AI Pro(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- "Standard limits", with no number published; limits refresh every 5 hours up to a weekly limit. Google says users without a plan may be limited first when capacity changes.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Yes, unless you turn it off. How to turn it off: Keep Activity, on gemini.google.com click Activity, then On, then Turn off or Turn off and delete activity.On by default if you are 18 or over. When it is off, conversations are still kept with your account for up to 72 hours.(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- 13, or the applicable age in your country, with a personal or school Google Account; 18 with a work account. In Italy Google sets 14 as the age to manage your own Google Account.(source, read on )
- Age checks
- With Family Link a parent can turn off Gemini for children under 13 (or the age set in the country); accounts managed by Family Link cannot use the Gemini web app. The paid plans are for people aged 18 or over.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhoneyes, Androidyes, Windowsyes, Macyes.Google's release notes date the Windows app to 10 September 2026.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Web app in "more than 70 languages" and over 230 countries and territories, Italian included; the phone app "may have different availability".(source, read on )
- Models
- Gemini 4 Argon, for Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers since 13 October 2026. The plans page gives the free version the model Google calls "Flash-Lite" and AI Plus the "Flash" model.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. Google's Italian plans page sells the plans in euros.(source, read on )
Grok
Maker: xAI, United States
- Plans and prices
- Free: No charge: "limited free access", depending on your location(tax not stated, pageglobal)(source, read on )
- Plus: 8 EUR/month (80 EUR/year)(tax excluded, pageIT). An AI usage quota shared across Grok Chat, Voice, Imagine and Build, plus benefits on X(source, read on )
- Premium: 31 EUR/month (16 EUR the first month as an offer; 310 EUR/year)(tax excluded, pageIT). 4x the usage of Plus and the latest Grok models(source, read on )
- Super: 105 EUR/month (53 EUR the first month as an offer; 1,050 EUR/year)(tax excluded, pageIT). 15x the usage of Plus and 1080p video(source, read on )
- Ultra: 210 EUR/month (105 EUR the first month as an offer; 2,100 EUR/year)(tax excluded, pageIT). 50x the usage of Plus and early access to new products and models(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- "Limited free access", depending on your location; no numbers published.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Not stated. How to turn it off: Improve the model (app) / Improve the Model (grok.com), in the app, Settings > Data Controls; on grok.com, Settings > Data.The FAQ says the company "may use" your content to train its models and that you control this, without stating the default. Private Chat is not used for training and is deleted within 30 days.(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- At least 13, or the minimum age in your country; from 13 to 17 a parent or guardian must give permission (terms updated 27 October 2026, with extra terms for the EEA, the UK and Switzerland).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- The terms say the company applies controls designed for age-appropriate experiences for minors "as required by applicable law"; no age check procedure is described.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhoneyes, Androidyes, Windowsnot stated, Macnot stated.Grok is also available inside X, where X's own help centre applies.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Not published by the maker.(no official page, read on )
- Models
- Not verified: xAI's news page names Grok 4.7 as its latest model, but the page blocks automated reading and no dated copy was kept, so the name and date could not be checked again; which model each plan gets is not published.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. xAI's terms, which now sign as SpaceXSI (SpaceX Super Intelligence LLC), include specific terms for residents of the EEA, and the plans page opened from Italy shows prices in euros.(source, read on )
Meta AI
Maker: Meta, United States (in the EU the contract is with Meta Platforms Ireland)
- Plans and prices
- Free: No charge: Meta says Meta AI "will still be free for everyday use"(tax not stated, pageglobal)(source, read on )
- Meta One Core: 7.99 USD/month as announced; no euro price found(tax not stated, pageglobal). Generate more images and videos with Meta AI(source, read on )
- Meta One Premium: 19.99 USD/month as announced; no euro price found(tax not stated, pageglobal). Everything in Core, with the most room to create with Meta AI across Meta's apps(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- Meta says Meta AI "will still be free for everyday use" and publishes no limits.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Yes, unless you turn it off. How to turn it off: Right to object (an objection form), sent from your Facebook, Instagram or Meta account; a separate request from your WhatsApp account covers messages sent to the AIs on WhatsApp.Meta's privacy page lists your interactions with its AI features among the sources it uses for training. An objection applies to future training, not to a training session already started.(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- Not under 13, or the higher age set in your country (Meta's AI terms for the EU, in effect from 13 May 2026).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- Not published by the maker for Meta AI.(no official page, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhonenot stated, Androidnot stated, Windowsnot stated, Macnot stated.No official page listing the phone or computer systems was found. WhatsApp's help centre describes Meta AI inside WhatsApp, available so far only in some countries.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Not published by the maker.(no official page, read on )
- Models
- Not published for Meta AI. The Muse Wonder models Meta announced on 12 October 2026 are for developers and for Muse, a separate agent.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. Meta has separate AI terms for the EU, in effect from 13 May 2026, and its privacy page explains the right to object for Europe.(source, read on )
Microsoft Copilot
Maker: Microsoft, United States
- Plans and prices
- Free: No charge with a free Microsoft account(tax not stated, pageIT). "Limited usage" of Copilot(source, read on )
- Microsoft 365 Personal: 10.00 EUR/month or 99.00 EUR/year(tax not stated, pageIT). Copilot chat with higher usage than the free version(source, read on )
- Microsoft 365 Family: 13.00 EUR/month or 129.00 EUR/year(tax not stated, pageIT). Up to six people; the AI features are for the subscription holder only(source, read on )
- Microsoft 365 Premium: 22.00 EUR/month or 219.00 EUR/year(tax not stated, pageIT). "Extended usage" of Copilot(source, read on )
- Microsoft 365 Pro: 110.00 EUR/month, monthly billing only(tax not stated, pageIT). The highest Copilot usage limits(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- With a free Microsoft account Copilot has "limited usage"; Microsoft publishes no numbers.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Not stated. How to turn it off: No training setting listed for the new app, the privacy controls of the new Copilot app (available since 18 August 2026) cover memory, chat history, web search and personalized ads.For the older app, Microsoft's privacy FAQ says conversations are used for training unless you opt out, are kept 18 months by default, and lists users and countries left out; Italy is not among them. Microsoft's privacy statement (September 2026) says it "may use your data to develop and train our AI models".(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- At least 13, "but sometimes older, depending on your country's laws" (terms in effect from 18 August 2026).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- Microsoft says it may turn off or limit some features for users under 18; no age check is described.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhoneyes, Androidyes, Windowsyes, Macyes.The download page, which presents the app as "AI built for work", offers Windows and Mac downloads; its phone badges lead to the app the stores list as Microsoft 365 Copilot.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Italian is among the languages listed for personal Microsoft accounts; Copilot is available in "over 170 markets".(source, read on )
- Models
- Not published: the download page, written for work use, says you can switch between AI models without naming them.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. Microsoft's Italian pages sell the Microsoft 365 plans that include Copilot in euros.(source, read on )
Mistral Vibe (formerlyLe Chat)
Maker: Mistral AI, France
- Plans and prices
- Free: No charge(tax not stated, pageglobal). Access on web and mobile with limited messages and web searches(source, read on )
- Pro: 14.99 USD/month, or 14.99 EUR with the page's euro option, before tax (the page has a switch to show prices with tax)(tax excluded, pageglobal). Up to 6x the messages and 5x the web searches of Free, and all-day coding(source, read on )
- Education: 5.99 USD/month for verified students (normally 14.99), for up to 12 months(tax excluded, pageglobal). Pro-level access for verified students at accredited higher institutions(source, read on )
- Team: 24.99 USD per user/month(tax excluded, pageglobal). Higher limits and up to 30 GB of storage per user(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- Limited messages and web searches, limited coding sessions, basic image generation and editing, on web and mobile; no numbers published.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Yes, unless you turn it off. How to turn it off: Allow your interactions to be used to train our models (web) / Enable data sharing (iOS and Android), on the web, Admin panel > Vibe > Privacy; in the phone app, Settings > Data & Account Controls.Mistral's help article of 3 September 2026 says Vibe users "are not opted out by default".(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- At least 13, with a parent's or guardian's permission where required (terms for EU consumers, in effect from 8 October 2026).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- No age check is described.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhoneyes, Androidyes, Windowsnot stated, Macnot stated.Also a command-line tool and plugins for VS Code and JetBrains, for programmers; no desktop app for Windows or Mac is published.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Not published by the maker.(no official page, read on )
- Models
- Not published for the app: Mistral says Vibe uses the "same Mistral models" in every mode.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. Mistral's terms for EU consumers refer to the Italian Consumer Code, and the pricing page lists Italy in its country menu.(source, read on )
Perplexity
Maker: Perplexity, United States
- Plans and prices
- Free: No charge (the "Standard" plan)(tax not stated, pageglobal)(source, read on )
- Pro: Not verified: the Pro page shows its price only in a browser and could not be checked again on 31 October 2026; the help centre gives no Pro price(tax not stated, pageglobal). Extended Pro Search, advanced AI models, image and video generation(source, read on )
- Education Pro: 10 USD/month with student or educator verification (SheerID)(tax not stated, pageglobal). Everything in Pro plus Learn Mode, for verified students and educators(source, read on )
- Max: 200 USD/month or 2,000 USD/year(tax not stated, pageglobal). The highest access to advanced models and priority support; yearly billing only on the web(source, read on )
- What the free version gives
- "Practically unlimited basic searches", a "very limited amount of Pro Searches" and limited file uploads; Perplexity picks the model for you. No numbers published.(source, read on )
- Chats used to train models
- Yes, unless you turn it off. How to turn it off: AI data retention, in Account > Preferences, switch it off.On by default for Free, Pro and Max. Switching it off covers only data collected afterwards.(source, read on )
- Minimum age
- 13 or older; a minor aged 13 or more may use it only if a parent or guardian accepts the terms (terms updated 23 January 2026).(source, read on )
- Age checks
- No age check is described.(source, read on )
- Apps
- Webyes, iPhoneyes, Androidyes, Windowsyes, Macyes.The desktop apps need Windows 10 version 1809 or later, or macOS 15 or later. Comet, Perplexity's web browser, is a separate product. The help centre has billing articles for iOS and Android subscriptions.(source, read on )
- Languages
- Not published by the maker (the help centre exists in 11 languages, which is not a list of the app's languages).(no official page, read on )
- Models
- Models from several makers, in a list dated 27 October 2026: Pro includes GPT-6.1 Sol, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Grok 4.7 among others; Max adds GPT-6 Astra, Gemini 4 Argon, Claude Opus 5.5 and Claude Fable 5.1. The free plan uses "Best", chosen automatically. An older help article on Pro still names earlier models.(source, read on )
- In Italy
- Available. Perplexity publishes no list of countries; its privacy notice (23 October 2026) names VeraSafe as its representative in the EU, and its terms are published in Italian.(source, read on )
Common questions
ChatGPT or Gemini: which one should I use?
It depends on what you need. Both have a free version and an Italian interface. On 31 October 2026 the cheapest paid plan seen from Italy was Google AI Plus at 4.99 euros a month and ChatGPT Go at 8 euros a month. Both use your chats to improve their AI unless you switch it off: in ChatGPT the setting is called Improve the model for everyone, in Gemini it is Keep Activity.
ChatGPT or Claude: what is the difference?
The clearest difference for a family is age: Claude's terms require users to be 18, ChatGPT's allow 13 with a parent's permission and include a teen mode. Claude's pricing page shows dollars and says tax is not included; ChatGPT's page seen from Italy shows euros and says nothing about tax. Both use chats for training unless you switch it off.
Which AI assistant is free?
All nine assistants on this page can be used without a subscription, and most of them limit the free version. Meta says Meta AI will stay free for everyday use, and DeepSeek publishes no paid plan for individuals. None of the nine publishes the exact limits of its free version in numbers: the pages speak of limited or standard use, or of multiples such as twice the free limit.
Which AI assistants do not use my chats for training?
None of the nine says it leaves your chats out of training by default. ChatGPT, Claude, DeepSeek, Gemini, Meta AI, Mistral Vibe and Perplexity say they use them unless you switch it off or object. Microsoft Copilot's new app and Grok do not state the default. The table gives the name of each setting and where to find it.
What is the best AI assistant?
This page does not rank the assistants, because the right one depends on your needs: what you can spend, your age or your child's, the language you write in, and how you want your chats handled. The table compares those facts from the makers' own pages so you can choose for yourself.
Can I use DeepSeek in Italy?
On 30 January 2025 Italy's data protection authority, the Garante, ordered a definitive limitation, with immediate effect, on processing the data of DeepSeek users in Italy. On 31 October 2026 no later decision changing it was found on the Garante's website, and DeepSeek's own pages say nothing about Italy. For that reason the table marks DeepSeek as not verified for Italy.
Topics: comparison, AI assistants, ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, prices, privacy